Friendship day!!!!

I logged on to my Facebook account after a Post Sehri sleep…as I have nothing to do except for facebook.I found out it was the friendship day. Well, I thought I had heard of this day somewhere back in school or college where we used to give each other cards, or when we got hold of internet used to log on to 123 greetings and send a e-card.

Then I just thought of hey now I have facebook why not to send a friendship day message to my friends and then I started to browse through a long list of my friends. Friends ??

I thought again … This is just a guy from work, that girl I hardly know is from college…that is my aunties daughter so had to add her , this guy well I don’t really remember who exactly he is IRC? Yahoo  chat? Cannot remember …     Finally some friends.  That guy well he had a crush on me so.. That technically is not a friend.This is a friend we lived in Hostel together. Well we haven’t talked in years I thought does it still make her my friend.. Naaa..

OH MY GOD It suddenly strike me I have no friends, I started feeling pangs in my stomach but that is not possible I am this super friendly and nice person how can I not have friends I thought… Lemme go back and check..

No wait first I need to decide how do I categorize a friend hmm a friend ? Gibran..came to my mind

Your friend is your needs answered.

He is your field which you sow with love and reap with thanksgiving.

And he is your board and your fireside.

For you come to him with your hunger, and you seek him for peace.

When your friend speaks his mind you fear not the “nay” in your own mind, nor do you withhold the “ay.”

And when he is silent your heart ceases not to listen to his heart;

For without words, in friendship, all thoughts, all desires, all expectations are born and shared, with joy that is unclaimed.

When you part from your friend, you grieve not;

For that which you love most in him may be clearer in his absence, as the mountain to the climber is clearer from the plain.

And let there be no purpose in friendship save the deepening of the spirit.

For love that seeks aught but the disclosure of its own mystery is not love but a net cast forth: and only the unprofitable is caught.

And let your best be for your friend.

If he must know the ebb of your tide, let him know its flood also.

For what is your friend that you should seek him with hours to kill?

Seek him always with hours to live.

For it is his to fill your need, but not your emptiness.

And in the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures.

For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.

Ahh well.. . As a girl in the part of the world its always hard to keep friends,some get married..some want to get married so basically after college u have to start from scratch. Is it a matter of priority in life no I don’t think so .Its a matter of need, the person who you need the most for that time in that place, can be someone who can help you do ur assignments ,can be someone who can let you have a good time at work, can be someone who will listen to all your crap in hostel.. and then when that time and place is done you are done with that person.

However there is always this one person in your facebook list who you can always count on, who would always listen to you, be happy for you when you have achieved something. Say everything will be ok when you are said .This one person who will always answer your phone call whenever he/she can or drop you a message I will call you laters. Ask you to shutup when you are being too pessimist and  believe in you. And I am happy I have one person in my list

Life is grey without friends.

Leave a Reply

